What’s in a name?

My thirteen-year old son resents having a common name, Joe. He longs for a more exotic moniker. Perhaps Zak or Xander.

Growing up named Demetra (Demi) Baferos is something I’d wish on no child. In rural West Virginia I was called everything from Demmie to Dummy. I received Valentines addressed to “Dime”.

In the Greek tradition I was named after my paternal grandmother. When I finally met my Greek family at age seventeen, I discovered three other cousins named Demetra. There are hundreds of Demetras in Greece. Finally a place where I could find my name on a pre-printed bookmark or bracelet! If only I could decipher the alpha-beta.

It would be a half-truth to say my child’s name was only a reaction to living with my own complicated one. Actually, he was “the Joey” long before he was Joe. But I seriously doubt he’s ready to hear about the front pockets on my maternity bathrobe and how we named him after a baby kangaroo.

3 thoughts on “What’s in a name?

  1. Lol, I hated my name growing up because it was so common. There was always another Michelle in my class. Then, I married a David and we were going to give our kids names that were different enough that they would be the only ones with that name in their classes. They all have had kids with those names (Serenity, Kadin, Kali, & Violet) in their classes, but no Michelle’s or David’s. Oh, well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

